Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

In a small South Carolina town, where it seems little has changed since the Civil War, sixteen-year-old Ethan is powerfully drawn to Lena, a new classmate with whom he shares a psychic connection and whose family hides a dark secret that may be revealed on her sixteenth birthday. [description from WorldCat]

beautifulcreatures

Ethan has been having nightmares that are disturbingly real. Things get even stranger when the girl from his dreams shows up at his school and it turns out she is the niece of the creepy town shut-in. Ethan can’t help but be drawn to Lena and gets sucked into her world – a shadowy version of his very own town that holds more secrets than he ever imagined.

I finally read Beautiful Creatures even though I’m a few years late. I figure that I might see the movie sometime soon and I’d like to have read the book first. I enjoyed it more than I anticipated; I usually shy away from things that seem like they will be mostly paranormal romance. While some of the rules about Casters and Keepers and all the Official Capitalized Words were a little much for me, the characters and the story drew me in and kept me interested until the end. Despite the long length it was a quick read. Plus there was an awesome librarian character, which is always a bonus!

Leave a Reply

