Twitter

I made a Twitter account a few years ago, used it infrequently for a couple months, then decided I thought it was pointless and deleted my few tweets.  I kept my account in case I wanted to continue following people, but I never bothered to log in again until today.  I’m @fancypantspete on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/fancypantspete.

Our library already has a Twitter account, with various information posted about our hours, programs, etc.  Unlike on facebook, where we have a general library page and a separate teen services page, I don’t maintain a teen services BPL Twitter account.  I don’t think the teens around here are using Twitter – I never hear them mention it – so I would not bother to create one.

I will not continue using Twitter personally or professionally; like I said, I don’t like it.  It’s just one more thing to check and I don’t have the time.  I’d much rather interact with my friends on facebook than Twitter and I don’t feel the need to follow the few who are on Twitter there as well.  Some of them have also deleted or abandoned their accounts too.  I thought I would keep my account in case I wanted to still follow interesting public figures, but most of the ones I was following tweet so frequently, and frequently in reply to other users, it just feels like spam.

I tried Twitterfeed.  It was easy enough to use, although I won’t continue using it because I don’t plan on using Twitter.  If I was, I think it would be more useful to me to feed tweets into facebook than vice versa.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sesedell
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 03:48:46

    I resisted Twitter for a very long time and then, during my internship tracking tweets and conducting analysis, I became a Twitter user. I find that I use it mainly for school, LAM and LIS related news, and book reviews. But, quite honestly, I did not think I would succumb to this type of news feed. That said, I’m not sure who uses it for play and I wasn’t convinced that students were following the academic library I interned at. So, I think you might be onto something. (Btw, I loved the photo of your cats at the window.) Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • Tori
      Mar 31, 2012 @ 16:18:04

      For teen library-related news and book reviews, I find the many blogs I read much more useful. And reading them all in Google Reader doesn’t require clicking to follow links and have tons of tabs open. I just can’t get into Twitter.

      Reply

      • sesedell
        Mar 31, 2012 @ 18:47:03

        What I like about these modules is that it gives us a chance to play with some new Web 2.0 tool, but – as I think has been said before – each one is not for everyone. I agree that RSS feeds are extremely useful, esp. because you don’t have to follow links or have numerous tabs or windows open. It *does* take less time, just a simple scan. Ultimately, we do what we find most useful and interesting to us.

    • Tori
      Mar 31, 2012 @ 19:02:45

      Yes, I absolutely agree it’s worth trying new tools to find out what works best for you!

      Reply

  2. southernlites
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 12:36:11

    Well, I admit it I am totally addicted to Twitter! I have Google Reader but never have the time to sort through it all, while Twitter allows me to find information a little more quickly. That being said we have to weigh these tools and find what works for us as individuals and organizations. The key here is to try the different tools and use what works best. Thanks for trying it again!

    Reply

  3. wolfamongthebooks
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 09:03:08

    I will admit, when I first tried Facebook and Twitter it was interesting to see who else I could find, but after that some of the initial interest kind of wore off. But, I guess what our mothers told us is true: How do whether you like something or not unless you try it? You get an introduction and, as Sesedell pointed out, that’s the point here.

    Reply

  4. wavestoshore
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 17:41:46

    It is reassuring to read that I am not the only one not using Twitter. Hearing other’s reluctance about Twitter and now their affection toward it, makes me think I need to give it a different try. I don’t feel like I am missing out on information and happenings because I am not on Twitter. But I should do some more comparison to my current tech tools to make that statement with confidence. Lori

    Reply

  5. maryposey
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 15:41:46

    Twitter seemed strange and almost pointless when I first signed on. Months later, somehow, I started using it and got hooked. It was so addicting, I spent hours on it night-after-night and after a few months of that business, I barely touched it. I loved the twitter chats that came up. All of a sudden 9 at night someone whould say they would start taking questions about a paricular topic and off I would go. Or open their time for a special theme from 9-11, for example. I also loved tweeting during an awards show. It was so much fun giving commentary as performers came on stage or sang or whatever. Once I stopped opening Twitter, I once again, was creating art, crafts, and adventures.

    Reply

  6. maryposey
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 15:43:39

    How do you spend your non-Twitter time?

    Reply

  7. maryposey
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 18:09:14

    The crafts will wait. Before you know it, you will be teaching her to sew. Check out my ‘shelfless’ library at http://maryposey.wordpress.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

