Pinterest

I’ve been using Pinterest for almost a year now.  I go through spurts of using Pinterest and then neglecting my boards for a while.  I use it primarily for house/decorating/craft/DIY type ideas and for library/work related ideas.  This is the link to my page with the boards I currently have: http://pinterest.com/torisaurus/.

I follow a number of people on Pinterest, split between the two themes I use it for.  Three library related people I follow are Leila Roy of Bookshelves of Doom: http://pinterest.com/bkshelvesofdoom/, Andrea Graham of The 4YA Blog: http://pinterest.com/4ya/, and Sarah Amazing, another teen librarian: http://pinterest.com/aboutsaffron/.

I also am part of a collaborative board with many other librarians around the country with ideas for this summer’s summer reading theme: http://pinterest.com/pippi/2012-dream-big-read-collaborative-boards/.

A few weeks ago, an interesting discussion about Pinterest and copyright violation came up on a teen services listserv that I subscribe to.  This blog post from a photographer who is also a lawyer lays out some of the potential problems with Pinterest and copyright violation: http://ddkportraits.com/2012/02/why-i-tearfully-deleted-my-pinterest-inspiration-boards/.  I have personally seen many pins that do not link back to an original source, and I do find it concerning that Pinterest saves full size versions of photos on their server indefinitely.  Also concerning is that the terms of service put all of the onus on the user to have the rights to pin an image, while allowing Pinterest to sell that image later on if they so choose.  The blogger mentioned above got a personal response from the founder of Pinterest, which you can read here: http://ddkportraits.com/2012/02/my-date-with-ben-silbermann-following-up-and-drying-my-tears/.  This article from last week also has some updates about Pinterest’s response: http://www.washingtonpost.com/business/technology/pinterest-addresses-copyright-concerns/2012/03/15/gIQAijAFES_story.html.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sesedell
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 20:12:43

    Thank you for the post. It’s important that as social media/web 2.0 users that we understand the pros and cons of every tool. I just joined Pinterest and find it strangely intimidating. I’ve been keeping up with the articles and issue regarding copyright, user rights, etc, so maybe that has slowed down my exploration of the site. I think I need to play a bit more with it because it seems like a good site for libraries, similar IMO to Facebook.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Pinterest | annebpllearning
  3. sarah apple
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 19:25:54

    ALthough I spend a lot of time searching on Pintrest, I never really activated my account — I don’t want to pin, I just want eye candy and help! I really loved your board, Tori!

    Reply

  4. Marti
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 15:06:11

    I remember seeing that blog post, Tori, and while I understand the concern that photographers and other content-creators may have, I have to say that I think the burden of copyright and whether or not violations are occurring is on the pinner. I re-pin a lot, but if I’m pinning “orginally,” I always try to track down the creator. Say a designer makes a chair – a beautiful chair I want in my office someday. Someone on a design blog finds it and posts, with permission, linking back to the designer. Then it goes through the blog-circuit, maybe hits a few tumblrs. And maybe that’s where I see it – I would consider it “on me” to go back through and find the designer’s site to pin, knowing that the pin will link back to that site (effecting “attribution”).

    Reply

    • Tori
      Mar 29, 2012 @ 15:12:03

      I think part of the problem is that it is extremely easy to pin or re-pin without tracking down the original post, and that Pinterest then stores a full size version of the pin, potentially with no correct attribution. One of the articles mentions that Google images was able to avoid copyright liability by not showing full size versions of images, but Pinterest doesn’t have that defense.

      Reply

  5. maryposey
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 15:22:50

    Tori, I like your personal pin board as I am a crafter, homemaker, and a lover of babies! I had never looked at a collaborative board before, so thank you for sharing it. How many folks are contributing to it?

    Reply

    • Tori
      Apr 12, 2012 @ 15:58:58

      For the Summer Reading book, almost 200 librarians around the country are collaborating on it. The baby costumes board is one that Cathy created when she was looking for a Halloween costume for Audrey. Just the two of us are the pinners there.

      Reply

  6. maryposey
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 18:10:46

    Wow, 200! I had no idea. Great images. The baby costumes are cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

