Libraries and (YA) Blogs

I read many blogs related to YA librarianship, for a variety of reasons. I use them to get reviews of new books, to get programming ideas, to keep current with pop culture that’s relevant to my job, to stay informed about what my professional organization (YALSA) is up to, and for entertainment. I find blogs very useful for all these purposes. I rarely visit the actual sites though – I do all of my blog reading through Google Reader. For some of my favorites, check out the links in the right side menu.

I’ve attempted to maintain a couple of personal blogs in the past, including one on WordPress, but never manage to keep updating them. Hopefully I will be better here where there are assigned topics to work on!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sesedell
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 19:42:31

    Hi Tori. I worked at a local bookstore where I live – Santa Rosa, CA – and I worked closely with the children’s bookseller there. She got me hooked on YA lit. In fact, a young patron is a YA book reviewer-blogger, Zoe, and she actually helped us get YA authors to come to our store because she became a great word-of-mouth for them. If you have time, you should check her out: http://www.zoesbookreviews.com/. My current favorites are David Levithan, John Greene, and Gayle Forman – mostly because of their inclusion of music.

    Reply

  2. southernlites
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 17:24:57

    Bliss! My daughter and I both love dystopian lit! Thank you for sharing your favorite blogs, love Bookshelves of Doom.

    Reply

  3. wolfamongthebooks
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 08:09:59

    Hi Tori,
    You’ve also shown how learning one tool can lead to learning about and using another, in this case RSS feed aggregators. These are a good idea, since they not only help keep you up on the latest blog posts, but save you time and effort.
    I also find the trend in YA lit toward dystopian futures interesting, how it can be cyclical. When I was a teen we were reading Brave New World, 1984, and Fahrenheit 451; now it’s The Hunger Games, etc.
    Paul

    Reply

  4. wolfamongthebooks
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 10:18:53

    Tori,
    Reading your post made me realize something else: you’re using the latest technology to keep up with the latest in pop culture. See a connection? Teens are often the first to adopt the latest gadgets and tools, keeping current on what’s new also keeps you current with teens. Just something to think about.
    Paul

    Reply

  5. allisonmackey
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 20:13:44

    I wanted to recommend one of the blogs I follow, Abby the Librarian, because she’s a children’s librarian and blogs often about program ideas, book reviews, etc. and I didn’t see it on your blogroll..

    http://www.abbythelibrarian.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

