Hello world!

Hello everyone!

My name is Tori and I am a Youth Services Librarian.  Of five Youth Services Librarians at BPL, I am the one who concentrates on serving our teen population.  I share Children’s Information Desk duties with the rest of my department.  I specialize in ordering the YA books, doing the teen programming, and doing outreach to teens in the schools and community.  I love doing teen programming and reading YA lit!  I love dystopian literature in general, so I’m pretty happy about the current trend of dystopian YA lit.  Some of my recent favorites are Divergent by Veronica Roth, Blood Red Road by Moira Young, Wither by Lauren DeStefano, and Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allisonmackey
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 02:26:14

    Hi Tori,
    That’s so cool that you get to focus on teens. My library doesn’t have a teen librarian, but if they had the resources to hire one, I would fight someone for that job! I especially love the dystopian young adult literature trend, too.

    Reply

  2. wavestoshore
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 02:14:33

    Hello Tori. I appreciate you listing your recent favorites. Since I no longer have a middle school classroom, I have missed the YA literature. These are going on my summer reading list. I hope I can find a job just like yours when I graduate!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

